Advertisments:

Sponsor Links:

Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

Temporary Employee

Dealing with a class action? Discuss it here

Temporary Employee

Postby Inerney » Sat Dec 17, 2016 2:40 am

I have been working for a company in California as a temporary employee for over 14 months. I do not get any benefits from my employer; even though I work 5 days a week, 40 hours a week and work the same amount of overtime as the permanent employees. I am not employed through a temp agency. I do the same jobs as the permanent employees. My HR manager says the company has the right to keep me as a temporary employee as long as they feel fit. Is she correct about this? I feel being here 14 months is no longer a temporary job. By the way, the total number of employees at my job is 9 permanent employees and 2 temps.
Inerney

Temporary Employee

Postby Muata » Sun Dec 25, 2016 12:36 am

Steve,

You may not like what I have to tell you-  I am not an expert in California Employment regs, but I am pretty sure this will apply to you.

First, I will tell you what I think you "are not".    Do a search for the term    permatemp     or    permanent temporary    on Google.    You will see a lot of action there for companies like Hewitt Packard and Verizon and others where they use a staffing company to avoid the class requirements to offer benefits.  Under this assumption,  the employees, through a temporary staffing agency, are employees of that agency, and are not "eligible" for the benefits of the client for which they were offered employment and accepted.

In this case, many people work for months or years through Agencies at one worksite and never get benefits- so they are starting class action law suits to try and demonstrate they are, in fact, being discriminated against for the "employer swapping" concept to exclude their benefits.   Microsoft settled a suit a while back for using permatemps for something like 93 million

This is NOT your situation though....