Advertisments:

Sponsor Links:

Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

Mileage For Consultants

Business Law discussions

Mileage For Consultants

Postby Dewain » Sat May 21, 2016 8:54 pm

s About Taxes)/MIleage for Consultants Advertisement Expert: John L. Tidwell - 1/10/2011 I am a Consultant for a Firm, but I drive everyday directly to the client.  I know from previous questions you have had that I can deduct all mileage above what I would drive to my employer office, but I am wondering if I just deduct those miles or if I expense them an my company should pay me.  I am wondering if it is an either or situation?

Thanks -
Dewain

Mileage For Consultants

Postby Wokaihwokomas » Mon May 23, 2016 8:02 am

s About Taxes)/MIleage for Consultants Advertisement Expert: John L. Tidwell - 1/10/2011 I am a Consultant for a Firm, but I drive everyday directly to the client.  I know from previous questions you have had that I can deduct all mileage above what I would drive to my employer office, but I am wondering if I just deduct those miles or if I expense them an my company should pay me.  I am wondering if it is an either or situation?

Thanks -
Wokaihwokomas

Mileage For Consultants

Postby Taylon » Mon May 23, 2016 5:54 pm

LeeAnn:

Personal use/ Business use of a vehicle is the most mis-understood business expense.  If the business owns a vehicle and provides it to you to use you must pay for the personal use of the vehicle and the company claims the business use.

Since you have your own vehicle and you use the vehicle for the "convience" of you employer for the furtherance of your employers business you can claim the business use of the vehicle on form 2106 form attached to your tax return form 1040.

If on the other hand your employer reimburse you for the use of your vehicle then you would report to the employer the miles you drive and they would pay you so much a mile and take a deduction for your paid miles.