Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

Mandatory Direct Deposit

Discuss Labor Laws

Mandatory Direct Deposit

Postby Branhard » Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:46 pm

Shannon

I am a NJ resident and work in NJ.

Can my employer force me to enroll in direct deposit?

And if they can't force me, can they charge me a fee to be paid by check? thanks

Joe
Branhard

Mandatory Direct Deposit

Postby Herschel » Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:11 am

Here is the NJ labor law, verbatim, in regards to direct deposit of wages...

"(h) In lieu of paying wages directly to an employee in the manner prescribed in(d) above [(d) is by payroll check], an employer may arrange with a financial institution or financial institutions to pay the wages of an employee by direct deposit, provided that all of the following conditions are met: 1. The employee shall first consent in writing to the direct deposit of his or her wages; 2. Consent under(h)1 above shall be obtained by the employer without intimidation, coercion, or fear of discharge or reprisal for refusal to accept the direct deposit arrangement; 3. Consent under(h)1 above shall not be a condition of hire or continued employment; 4. The employee's wages so deposited shall be subject to withdrawal and other disposition by the employee to the same extent and in the same manner as if such deposit had been made directly by the employee under(d) above; 5. The employee shall be furnished with a statement of deductions made from his or her wages for each pay period such deductions were made; and 6. The employee shall, on timely notice to the employer, be permitted by the employer to elect not to have his or her wages deposited in the manner prescribed in this subsection and to be paid his or her wages directly in the manner provided under(d) above or as provided under(i) below."

(i) is about the use of direct deposit debit cards, which I will not go into here.