Sponsor Links:

Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

Employment Bond For Sponsoring Higher Education

Discuss anything relating to Consumer Law

Postby zebulon71 » Tue Nov 29, 2016 11:45 am

Hi Arun,

I have been working with an IT MNC since 2005. In 2009, I was selected for an MBA program to be sponsored by my company. We around 20 selected people signed a Bond for commitment to serve for 3 years after completion of MBA. Our program completed in April 2011, therefore we are supposed to serve until March 2014.

Anybody leaving company in first year will have to pay 5 lacs, in 2nd yr 3 lacs, in 3rd yr 1 lac.

After completing MBA, I asked my company to recognize it in terms of Grade & Salary, to bring it at par with MBA recruits hired from B-Schools by them. To which they didnt act upon.

My question is,

1) Though there is a commitment to serve, Can a company continue to exploit the abilities gained through the education by not recognizing it ? in other words, How fair it is to recover the money invested through these means ?

2) One of the candidates who signed the same Bond, have left the company and they didnt enforce Bond conditions on him, Can they discriminate between employees and enforce it on me ?

Do I have strong legal grounds to pursuit in case they enforce it on me ?

Thanks in advance
zebulon71

Postby trucker » Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:32 am

Hi Arun,

I have been working with an IT MNC since 2005. In 2009, I was selected for an MBA program to be sponsored by my company. We around 20 selected people signed a Bond for commitment to serve for 3 years after completion of MBA. Our program completed in April 2011, therefore we are supposed to serve until March 2014.

Anybody leaving company in first year will have to pay 5 lacs, in 2nd yr 3 lacs, in 3rd yr 1 lac.

After completing MBA, I asked my company to recognize it in terms of Grade & Salary, to bring it at par with MBA recruits hired from B-Schools by them. To which they didnt act upon.