Advertisments:

Sponsor Links:

Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

E-mail Voting For Non-profit

Corporate Law Discussions

Postby Marlon » Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:13 pm

Does state law on non-profict organizations in PA allow the directors on the board to vote via e-mail, if the standard process of a motion, second and discussion then vote is followed throughout the e-mail process? We are a non-profit for a local museum, with 15 board members.
Marlon

Postby Suffield » Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:24 am

Does state law on non-profict organizations in PA allow the directors on the board to vote via e-mail, if the standard process of a motion, second and discussion then vote is followed throughout the e-mail process? We are a non-profit for a local museum, with 15 board members.
Suffield

Postby Maro » Fri Oct 14, 2016 9:15 am

First, a disclaimer: I'm not an expert on PA nonprofit law, nor am I an attorney.  I'm a professional parliamentarian, and an expert in Robert's Rules of Order.  But here's what I found with a little research, which I hope is of some help.http://www.citmedialaw.org/legal-guide/pennsylvania/forming-nonprofit-corporatio... provides a link to the state law for PA, with some tips on navigation.

See:http://government.westlaw.com/linkedslice/default.asp?SP=pac-1000

Title 15 Pa.C.S.A. Corporations and Unincorporated Associations

Part II. Corporations

Subpart C. Nonprofit Corporations

Article B. Domestic Nonprofit Corporations Generally

Chapter 57. Officers, Directors and Members

Subchapter A. Notice and Meetings Generally

Section 5703. Place and notice of meetings of board of directors or other body

Section 5708. Use of conference telephone and similar equipment

It appears that meetings must be in person or by teleconference or video-conference("equipment by means of which all persons participating in the meeting can hear each other").