Advertisments:

Sponsor Links:

Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

Code 1

Been involved in a traffic accident? Discuss traffic laws here

Code 1

Postby Erryl » Mon Nov 14, 2016 6:56 pm

I have a quick question for you which might sound a little ridiculous. Our department alarm assignments put 3 engines and a ladder on all AFA assignments. It is also in our SOPs that all responses are to be code 3 unless told otherwise by command at the scene or a chief. We have a LT. who is determined that the engine out of his house when he is present will not go code 3 unless they have a confirmed fire or life threat. As a driver I find this quite irritating because we will be going code 3 to a call and county will  come back and say callback from alarm company reporting smoke from cooking and the LT will reach over and shut my lights off. I understand where he is coming from but I feel that as the driver I am in control of the rig and responsible for what happens and the personnel on board. I have spoken to the Chiefs several times and he stopped doing for a while. He is back to doing it and it seems as if the chiefs don't care anymore. Any suggestions on what I might be able to do? thanks
Erryl

Code 1

Postby Dereck » Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:08 am

Sorry for the delay in answering but I have been without a computer for the past two weeks.