Advertisments:

Sponsor Links:

Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

Church An Umbrella For Member Ministries

Corporate Law Discussions

Postby Anant » Wed Dec 24, 2014 9:49 am

I am a pastor of a 501c3, non-profit church in PA. Can the church's 501c3 status serve as an umbrella for myself when I go other places and minister under my own(not the church's) ministry name?  Can the church "cover" other members who also have their own ministries?

ANSWER: What you are referring to is called by the IRS "group exemption" .

Group Exemption is discussed starting on the bottom of the first

column on page  7 of IRS Publication 557 at

www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p557.pdf

We see there that the only subordinates are organizations which are themselve established under state law as an exempt organization.  A individual can not be such an organization unless that individual(you) incorporate under a state's corporation sole provisions.  In the alternative you could organize, with a minimum of 3 unrelated directors, a nonprofit organization for your preaching. In any case, the IRS exemption organization fee page for 2011 has, for the third item, that the fee is $3000 for the present church to apply for the group exemption determination.

www.irs.gov/charities/article/0,,id=232771,00.html

Harvey Mechanic, Attorney at Law - [email protected]

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

Can I, the pastor of a church in PA, function under a fictitious name when I go other places to preach and, without incorporating my own ministry, use the 501c3 status of the church?