Welcome to Law-Forums.org!   

Advertisments:

Sponsor Links:

Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

A uk based immigration lawyer promises to book a seat with the ukba... Can he legally do this?

Talk about immigration laws here

A uk based immigration lawyer promises to book a seat with the ukba... Can he legally do this?

Postby lorimar » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:23 am

a uk immigration law firm is promising to book a seat with the ukba before the 19th of july if i pay them now -this way the cap/additional points that come into effect after this date will not affect me even though I will be filing after this date. Is the firm being honest?
lorimar

Postby jaren12 » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:27 am

Hi all,

First time posting - so bear with me. I am a lawyer (not with capital visas) but with Westkin Associates but will try and avoid posting spam as a few other law firms seem to have done! A few points:

1. A law firm can offer this service if they have the correct registration with UKBA. The service is called the Legal Representatives Same Day Service. It should show up on a web search, there is a UKBA. They usually call these "slots".
2. Only firms registered with the law society or OISC can use this service. Capital visas have the OISC logo on their site so seem to be registered with them although I haven't checked this online.
3.A firm shouldn't charge you more for a slot because they can. They should only charge for work done or increased costs. Using the same day service can cost more , eg when we provide clients the same day service we have to pay a legal clerk to go there all day and so explain this to clients up front. How much more were they charging and what for? They cannot "price gouge" but can charge for work done or costs incurred.

4. This might be late but I assume you want to avoid the new changes, they have just come out here:

http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/workingintheuk/tier1/general/applying/ - for Tier 1 and follow the link if you want Tier 2.