Advertisments:

Sponsor Links:

Discount Legal Forms
Discounted Legal Texts

1099 Versus W-2

Workers Compensation Law Discussion

1099 Versus W-2

Postby Rashae » Sun Dec 04, 2016 4:07 am

I have been working at a small trucking company in Michigan. I have been trying to explain the owner and his partner that paying a direct employee of the company on 1099 is illegal. They don't seem to understand! I am an operations manager and I work in thier office in thier building using company computers and telephones to book trucking business daily. I do not come and go as I please and am directed by them as what to do everyday. I feel they need to hear this from a professional other than myself so they would understand exactly what the law is. What are the penalties for the company if any? What can I do to convince them this is not good for them or myself.
Rashae

1099 Versus W-2

Postby acel7 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:42 pm

Perry,

You sound like an employee to me. Here is the web page from the IRS that explains to employers how to tell if a worker is an employee or an Independant contractor. It gives the criteria for both.http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=99921,00.html

I hope it helps.

Here is a short brief from the page and directions on how to have a determination from them on whether or not the job is employee or independent contract. If the form is filled out they will determine it for the employer. The form is the SS-8 form.

Common Law Rules

Facts that provide evidence of the degree of control and independence fall into three categories:

Behavioral: Does the company control or have the right to control what the worker does and how the worker does his or her job?

Financial: Are the business aspects of the worker’s job controlled by the payer?(these include things like how worker is paid, whether expenses are reimbursed, who provides tools/supplies, etc.)